Loading Events

« All Events

Lamb & Hayward Masterworks: Houstoun Plays Brahms

May 16 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm NZST

Benjamin Northey – Chief Conductor
Michael Houstoun – Piano
Anthony Ferner – Flute

Claude Debussy – Lindaraja arr. Bill Hopkins (New Zealand premiere)
Felix Mendelssohn – Symphony No 4 “Italian”
Francis Poulenc arr. Cree Brown – Cantilena for Flute
Johannes Brahms – Concerto No 1 for Piano

Mendelssohn’s fourth symphony is bursting with exuberance and youthful energy. Inspired by his travels around Italy, it is characterised by bright, sunny melodies and an uplifting freshness.

Also featuring in this programme are two exquisite miniatures, Debussy’s Lindaraja, originally composed for two pianos, and Poulenc’s Cantilena both re-imagined in sensitive arrangements for orchestra.

New Zealand’s foremost pianist, Michael Houstoun, joins the CSO to perform Brahms magnificent first piano concerto in his final performance with the CSO as he farewells the concert platform.


May 16
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:


Christchurch Town Hall
Christchurch, 8013 NZ + Google Map